Industry News
Quick Verdict
Suunto announced and shipped the Run 2 on September 8, 2026. It costs $349 with 4GB of storage and $399 with 64GB, and both versions include free worldwide offline maps, which is the headline. It weighs 35g, is 11.7mm thick, carries a 1.32-inch LTPS AMOLED rated at 2,000 nits, and runs dual-band L1 and L5 GNSS. The genuinely notable part is the sensor: independent testing by the5krunner across eight sessions put the new 12-channel wrist heart rate sensor within roughly 1 bpm of chest straps, including a 0.0 bpm bias on a 10-mile run against a Polar Sense. Wrist optical heart rate is usually the weakest part of a running watch, and on this watch it is the strongest.
Here is the catch, and it is a strange one. Suunto put a 29 percent larger battery in this watch, 380mAh against the original Run's 295mAh according to the5krunner's side by side, and daily battery life still went slightly down rather than up. The 2,000 nit display appears to have eaten the entire capacity gain. Suunto's own figures are around 10 days of everyday use with training and up to 24 hours of dual-band GNSS, but the5krunner's reviewer, running high brightness with the screen always on, estimated 15 or 16 hours instead of 24. You should also know what is missing: no streaming music, no contactless payments, and no third-party app store. This is a focused running watch, not a smartwatch.
What Suunto Actually Announced
Pre-orders and general availability both started on September 8, 2026, across North America, Europe, and what Suunto calls key Asia-Pacific markets, sold direct and through authorized running and outdoor retailers. Three colorways: All Black, Feather Gold, and Aloe Green.
The build is a stainless steel bezel over a glass-fibre-reinforced polyamide case with Gorilla Glass, rated to 5 ATM. The heart rate sensor sits behind what Suunto describes as 2.5D curved sensor glass, and an optional Smart Heart Rate Belt 2 is sold separately. GNSS covers GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou, and QZSS on both L1 and L5 bands.
On software, Suunto lists a Training Zone view that pulls together training load, HRV, sleep, and recovery, plus Training Plan, Marathon Mode, and a Ghost Runner pace feature, and two named metrics called EnergySense and Marathon Time. There is onboard music storage for wireless headphone playback. One absence worth flagging: Suunto's release does not mention an SpO2 or blood oxygen sensor, so we are not going to tell you it has one.
Suunto Run 2 vs Suunto Run: What Changed
This is close to a full redesign inside the same 46mm shell. Every figure below comes from Suunto's release, Suunto's product page, or the5krunner's spec comparison.
| Spec | Suunto Run (original) | Suunto Run 2 |
|---|---|---|
| US price | Not stated in this update | $349 (4GB), $399 (64GB) |
| Display | 1.32in AMOLED, up to 600 nits | 1.32in LTPS AMOLED, up to 2,000 nits |
| Storage | 4GB only | 4GB or 64GB |
| Offline maps | No, breadcrumb trail and waypoints | Yes, free worldwide |
| Battery capacity | 295mAh | 380mAh, 29 percent larger |
| Rated battery | Not stated in this update | Around 10 days daily use, up to 24 hours dual-band GNSS |
| GNSS | Sony dual-band L1 and L5 | New-generation dual-band L1 and L5 |
| Heart rate sensor | Previous generation | 12-channel behind 2.5D curved glass |
| Weight | 36g | 35g |
| Case | 46 x 46mm, steel bezel, Gorilla Glass | 46 x 46mm, steel bezel, Gorilla Glass |
The three upgrades that change what the watch can do are offline maps, the brighter panel, and the sensor. Storage matters only because maps and music need somewhere to live, which is the real reason to consider the $399 model rather than a vague sense that more is better. If you download one or two map regions and skip onboard music, 4GB is enough.
Worth being straight about price, though. the5krunner's comparison puts the original Run at £199 against the Run 2's £265, and describes the Run 2 as £66 to £100 more than the original Run's launch price depending on storage. We do not have a verified original US price to quote, so treat this as directional: the Run 2 is not a like-for-like replacement at the same money, it is a better watch that costs more.
The Heart Rate Numbers Are the Real Story
Most running watch launches ask you to take sensor claims on faith. This one has independent numbers behind it already. the5krunner tested the Run 2's wrist heart rate across eight sessions against three different reference devices and reported these biases.
| Session | Reference device | Reported bias |
|---|---|---|
| Outdoor 10-mile run | Polar Sense | 0.0 bpm, limits of -1.4 to +1.4 |
| Treadmill intervals | TymeWear VitalPro | -0.2 bpm |
| Trail run | TymeWear VitalPro | +0.7 bpm |
| Cycling | TymeWear VitalPro | +0.1 bpm |
| Track ramp test | TymeWear VitalPro | -0.6 bpm |
| Weights, legs and core | Polar Sense | -0.6 bpm |
| Long tempo run | Garmin HRM600 | -0.1 bpm |
| Zone 2 to 3 run | Polar Sense | 0.0 bpm |
Read those with the right caution. These are averaged biases from one reviewer on one wrist, not a lab study, and average bias hides moments where a sensor briefly loses the plot. The 10-mile run's limits of agreement, -1.4 to +1.4 bpm, are the more informative figure because they describe the spread rather than the average. Still, a strength session at -0.6 bpm is notable, because weights are where wrist sensors normally fall apart.
GPS came out well too. On the5krunner's 10-mile route the Run 2 scored 90 percent, a track test recorded 1.62km against an actual 1.628km, and a parkrun course recorded 5.00km against a ratified 5.00km. Under tree cover it read 5.34km against a 5.38km device average, about 40m short, which is the normal place for dual-band GNSS to struggle.
The Battery Paradox
A 29 percent larger battery that delivers slightly less daily runtime is unusual enough to explain. the5krunner states plainly that daily battery life "drops slightly compared with the original Run." The likely cause is the display: going from 600 nits to 2,000 nits is a big jump in peak brightness, and peak brightness is expensive.
That makes the settings the thing that decides your battery life, not the spec sheet. Suunto's around 10 days figure assumes everyday use with training, and its own release adds the standard caveat that actual life varies with settings, usage, and conditions. the5krunner's reviewer, using high brightness with always-on display, observed the watch drop from 41 percent to 37 percent in just under an hour and estimated 15 or 16 hours of that configuration rather than the rated 24.
The practical read: if you want the 2,000 nit screen on all the time, budget for something closer to two thirds of the headline GNSS number. If you leave the display in its default raise-to-wake behavior, the rated figures are more likely to hold. Either way, this is a watch you charge weekly, not monthly, and anyone coming from a Garmin with a multi-week rating should know that before ordering.
What It Does Not Do
The omissions are deliberate and they are the reason the price is $349 rather than $549. There is no music streaming, only local storage, so Spotify or Apple Music offline playlists are not part of this. There are no contactless payments. There is no third-party app store, and the5krunner counts roughly 20 watchfaces, so customization is thin.
None of that matters if you bought a running watch to run. All of it matters if you expected to leave your phone at home and still pay for coffee. Decide which of those two people you are before you spend $349, because this watch is unapologetically the first one.
How It Sits Against Garmin and Coros
At $349 with free worldwide offline maps, the Run 2 undercuts the segment where mapping normally starts. For context on what the top of that market now costs, our Garmin Fenix 9 vs Fenix 8 comparison covers watches that list at $999.99 and up, and offline mapping is a large part of what that money buys. If you are choosing between ecosystems rather than models, Garmin vs Apple Watch Ultra vs Coros is the more useful page, and if $349 is above your budget, the budget tier comparison is where to start.
The honest framing of the Run 2 is narrow excellence. It appears to measure heart rate and distance about as well as anything at any price, it shows you a map in bright sun, and it does very little else. Whether that is a bargain or a limitation depends entirely on how many of a $999 watch's features you were ever going to use.
Where Vora Fits
A watch this good at measurement is only useful if the measurements go somewhere you can still read them in three years. That is the part of a launch spec sheet nobody prints.
Vora reads from Apple Health and Health Connect rather than talking to watches directly, so what reaches Vora is whatever a device's companion app writes into those stores. Being specific about Suunto, because this is the part we could not confirm: Suunto's own partner services page names Strava, TrainingPeaks, and Life Time, and does not list Apple Health, Google Health Connect, or Google Fit. We could not verify on a Suunto page that the Suunto app writes workouts, sleep, or HRV into either health store, so treat that path as unconfirmed rather than assuming it works.
If getting Run 2 data into a nutrition and recovery app matters to you, check that specific route against your own phone before you buy, and check integrations for what Vora currently reads. The principle is the same one we apply to every device on this site: a watch that writes into an open health store leaves you owning your training history, and a watch that keeps it in a vendor app leaves you renting it.