Vora BlogIndustry News

Apple Watch Series 12 and Ultra 4: What Actually Shipped on September 9, and Whether to Upgrade

V
Vora Team
10 min readUpdated September 10, 2026

Industry News

Quick Verdict

Apple announced the Watch Series 12 and Ultra 4 on September 9, 2026. Both went up for pre-order that day and go on sale Friday, September 18. The Series 12 starts at $399 and the Ultra 4 at $799, so neither price moved. Both run the new S11 chip, and both carry an all-new Health Sensing System: redesigned optical and electrical heart sensors that read heart rate every five seconds all day and HRV as often as every five minutes. That feeds Readiness, a daily score from 0 to 10 that resolves into Recover, Pace Yourself, Ready, or Go For It.

The catch, and it is a real one: Readiness and the Health Sensing System are the only genuinely new capabilities here, and Apple's own comparison page limits both to the Series 12 and Ultra 4. Everything else this generation is incremental. The Series 12's all-day battery figure did not move at all, still up to 24 hours, the same as the Series 11. The blood pressure feature that was reportedly in regulatory review did not appear. If you own a Series 11, the upgrade question reduces to a single question: is a daily recovery verdict worth $399 to you? If you own a Series 9 or a Series 8, the case is much stronger, because you are buying three or four years of accumulated change at once.

How Our Rumor Table Graded Out

This piece originally ran as a preview with confidence labels attached to each rumor, and promised a post-event update. Grading it honestly is more useful than quietly rewriting it, so here is every claim we made and what Apple actually shipped.

What we said before the eventConfidence we gave itWhat shipped
September 9 event, new watches alongside iPhonesHighCorrect. Both watches were announced September 9 alongside the iPhone line.
New chip in Series 12 and Ultra 4HighCorrect. Both ship the S11, replacing the S10 in the Series 11.
Design carries over, same display sizesHighCorrect. The Series 12 stays 42mm and 46mm. Apple added Ceramic Shield 2 glass, which it describes as 60 percent tougher than the previous generation.
Revamped Health and Fitness apps with more wellness metricsMediumCorrect, and larger than reported. It shipped as Readiness, a 0 to 10 daily score, alongside a new Health Age metric.
All-day continuous heart-rate trackingMediumCorrect. Apple ships heart rate every five seconds all day and HRV up to 24 times more often than before.
Battery improvementsMediumSplit. The Ultra 4 reaches up to 50 hours, up from 42. The Series 12 stayed at up to 24 hours.
Another blood-pressure feature in regulatory reviewMediumDid not ship. Apple's Series 12 announcement makes no mention of a new blood pressure or hypertension feature.
Ceramic case returning, in white and dark grayMediumHalf right. Ceramic returned, but in pearl white and night blue rather than dark gray.
Touch ID on the watchLowDid not ship. Correctly rated low.
Sensor-embedded bandLowDid not ship. Correctly rated low.
No Apple Watch SE 4 at this eventStated as reportedCorrect. Apple's buy page still lists the SE 3 at $249.

The pattern is worth naming, because it repeats every September. The high-confidence hardware items landed. The medium-confidence items split cleanly along one line: the features tied to a shipping sensor arrived, and the one gated on an outside regulator did not. If you are reading rumors ahead of next year's event, weight regulatory-dependent claims lower than everything else, no matter how well sourced they are.

Prices, Dates, and What the Lineup Looks Like Now

ModelUS priceChipBattery, normal useReadiness
Apple Watch SE 3From $249Not stated in the launch releasesNot stated in the launch releasesNo
Apple Watch Series 12From $399S11Up to 24 hours, 38 in Low Power ModeYes
Apple Watch Ultra 4From $799S11Up to 50 hours, 84 in Low Power ModeYes
Apple Watch Series 11 (prior gen)Not listed on Apple's buy pageS10Up to 24 hours, 38 in Low Power ModeNo
Apple Watch Ultra 3 (prior gen)Not listed on Apple's buy pageS10Up to 42 hours, 72 in Low Power ModeNo

Note the "Not listed" rows carefully. Apple's own buy page now shows three watches: the SE 3, the Series 12 and the Ultra 4. That does not mean a Series 11 is unobtainable, since carriers and third-party retailers hold stock, but it does mean the usual "buy last year's model at a discount from Apple" move is not on the table this time. Our preview suggested waiting might get you a discounted Series 11 from Apple. That turned out to be wrong, and it is the one piece of buying advice in the original article we would retract.

The Series 12 comes in aluminum in dark bronze, black, light gold and space gray, titanium in radiant gold and natural, and ceramic in pearl white and night blue. The Ultra 4 stays titanium, in natural and black.

The All-Day Heart Rate Sensor Shipped, and It Became Readiness

This was the item we flagged as most consequential and least certain, on the grounds that continuous sampling costs battery and Apple has spent years protecting the all-day figure. It shipped, and the way Apple solved the battery problem is the interesting part.

The Series 12 now reads heart rate every five seconds throughout the day, with HRV measured as often as every five minutes. Macworld puts those at 60 times and 24 times more frequent than the Series 11 respectively, and credits new hardware: redesigned optical and electrical heart sensors with larger, more power-efficient green LEDs. Apple did not extend battery life to pay for the extra sampling. It made the sampling cheap enough to fit inside the existing 24 hour budget.

Readiness is what that data is for. Apple combines recent activity, training load, vitals and sleep score into one number from 0 to 10, then converts it into an instruction: Recover, Pace Yourself, Ready, or Go For It. This is the first time an Apple Watch has told you what to do with your recovery data rather than simply displaying it, and it is a direct answer to the category Whoop and Oura built.

The limitation to keep in view: Readiness has existed publicly for one day. Nobody has trained through a block with it, nobody has checked it against a hard week, and Apple developed the algorithm using Apple Heart and Movement Study data rather than a published external validation. A recovery score you have not lived with is a claim, not a result.

The Blood Pressure Feature That Did Not Arrive

Our preview gave medium confidence to a DigiTimes-sourced report that another blood-pressure-related feature was working through regulatory review, and called it potentially this generation's reason to exist. It did not ship. Apple's Series 12 announcement does not mention any new blood pressure or hypertension capability.

What exists today is unchanged: the FDA-cleared hypertension notifications introduced with the Series 11, which Apple's comparison page still lists on the Series 11 and Ultra 3 as well as the new models. That is trend detection, not a reading. No cuffless watch from any manufacturer is currently cleared to give you a blood pressure number, and nothing on September 9 changed that. Our breakdown of blood pressure watches in 2026 covers what actually ships today and where the hard limits sit.

If blood pressure was your reason to upgrade, the honest advice is to keep your current watch. Regulatory-gated features slip by years, not months, and there is no public timeline.

Battery: The Ultra Gained, the Series Did Not

We rated battery improvements as medium confidence with no figures available. The result splits by line.

The Ultra 4 is the real gain: more than two days at up to 50 hours, and up to 84 hours in Low Power Mode, which Macworld places against 42 and 72 hours on the Ultra 3. Extended Workout mode reaches 25 hours, with a max extended mode up to 45, and Apple describes the extended workout figure as 25 percent better than the previous model. Fifteen minutes of charging adds up to 18 hours.

The Series 12 did not move. Apple rates it at up to 24 hours of normal use, and Apple's own tech specs put the Series 11 at up to 24 hours too, both at up to 38 hours in Low Power Mode. What improved is charging speed: 15 minutes now yields up to 12 hours on the Series 12, against up to 8 hours on the Series 11. For a watch that has to be worn overnight for Readiness to work, faster top-ups arguably matter more than a longer rating, but it is not the battery upgrade the pre-event reporting implied.

Who Should Upgrade Now

Series 11 or Ultra 3 owners: this is a genuine judgment call rather than an easy no. You already have watchOS 27, hypertension notifications, sleep tracking and HRV history. What you do not get, and cannot get by updating, is Readiness or the Health Sensing System, because Apple's comparison page limits both to the new hardware. If a daily recovery verdict is something you would act on, the Series 12 at $399 is the cheapest route to Apple's version. If you already dismiss your Vitals alerts without reading them, denser sensing will not change your behaviour.

Series 9, Series 10 and Ultra 2 owners: the case is stronger, because you are collecting several generations of change in one purchase, including the S11 chip's performance jump and the new sensor array on top of it.

Series 8, SE 2 and original Ultra owners: you were the clearest upgrade case in our preview and you still are, because watchOS 27 left those models behind. Our companion piece on the watchOS 27 cutoff and the lawsuit it triggered covers what dropped models actually lose, which remains less than the headlines suggest.

Anyone who wants a recovery score without buying hardware: the third-party layer that filled this gap for years still runs on the watch you own. Our rundown of the best Apple Watch recovery apps in 2026 covers what those apps compute from a Series 11's data, and Athlytic versus Whoop compares a watch-based score with a dedicated strap. None of them get five-second sampling, so they work from a coarser signal than Readiness does.

Where Vora Fits

Vora is device-generation-agnostic on purpose: it reads from Apple Health, so a Series 8 and a Series 12 feed the same baselines, trends and coaching without a reset. Upgrade season is exactly when a device-independent layer earns its keep, because your recovery model should not start over because your wrist did.

One honest caveat now that the watches are real. Apple's announcements describe Readiness as a feature of the Watch and Health apps and do not state whether the score itself is exposed to third-party apps as a Health data type. Assume for now that Vora reads the underlying heart rate, HRV and sleep signals rather than importing Apple's number. Our integrations page lists what Vora connects to, including Health Connect on Android for anyone running both ecosystems.

Whichever watch you land on, the pre-purchase checklist is unchanged: confirm your health data flows to Apple Health, because that history, not the sensor that collected it, is the durable asset.

Frequently Asked Questions

When does the Apple Watch Series 12 come out?

Apple announced it on September 9, 2026, opened pre-orders the same day, and puts it on sale Friday, September 18, 2026 in more than 60 countries. The Ultra 4 follows the same schedule.

How much do the Apple Watch Series 12 and Ultra 4 cost?

The Series 12 starts at $399 in the US and the Ultra 4 at $799. Neither price changed from the previous generation. Apple's buy page currently lists three watches: the SE 3 from $249, the Series 12 from $399 and the Ultra 4 from $799.

What is new in the Apple Watch Series 12?

The S11 chip, an all-new Health Sensing System built on redesigned optical and electrical heart sensors, heart rate measured every five seconds all day, HRV measured up to 24 times more often, and Readiness, a daily 0 to 10 score that resolves into Recover, Pace Yourself, Ready, or Go For It. Apple also added Health Age and Ceramic Shield 2 glass, plus Audio Intelligence features including Sound Recognition, Live Rewind and Siri Recap.

Did the Apple Watch Series 12 get all-day heart rate tracking?

Yes. This was the least certain item in our preview and it shipped. The Series 12 and Ultra 4 read heart rate every five seconds throughout the day, with HRV as often as every five minutes. Macworld puts those at 60 and 24 times more frequent than the Series 11.

Does the Apple Watch Series 12 measure blood pressure?

No. The blood pressure feature reported to be in regulatory review before the event did not ship, and Apple's Series 12 announcement does not mention any new blood pressure capability. What exists is the FDA-cleared hypertension notification feature from the Series 11, which detects trends rather than giving a reading, and which Apple's comparison page still lists on older models too.

Is the Series 12 battery better than the Series 11?

Not for all-day use. Apple rates both at up to 24 hours of normal use and up to 38 hours in Low Power Mode. Charging is faster: 15 minutes adds up to 12 hours on the Series 12 against up to 8 hours on the Series 11. The Ultra 4 is where battery genuinely improved, reaching up to 50 hours against the Ultra 3's 42, and up to 84 hours in Low Power Mode against 72.

Can my Apple Watch Series 11 get Readiness?

No. Apple's comparison page lists Readiness and the Health Sensing System on the Series 12 and Ultra 4 only. The Series 11 does receive watchOS 27, which arrives Monday, September 14 for Series 9 and later, Ultra 2 and later, and the SE 3, but the Readiness score depends on the new sensor hardware.

Did the Apple Watch get a redesign or ceramic case in 2026?

No redesign, as expected. The Series 12 keeps the 42mm and 46mm sizes. Ceramic did return, which our preview rated medium confidence, though in pearl white and night blue rather than the white and dark gray that had been reported.

Should I upgrade from an Apple Watch Series 11?

Only if you would act on a daily recovery score. Readiness and the new sensor array are the sole capabilities you cannot get through a software update, and they cost $399. If you own a Series 9, Series 10 or Ultra 2 the case is stronger, and if you own a Series 8 or older the case is strongest because watchOS 27 dropped those models.

Sources & References

  1. Apple. Introducing Apple Watch Series 12, with the all-new Health Sensing System (2026-09-09)
  2. Apple. Apple unveils Apple Watch Ultra 4 (2026-09-09)
  3. Apple. Compare Apple Watch models
  4. Apple. Buy Apple Watch
  5. Apple Support. Apple Watch Series 11 Tech Specs
  6. 9to5Mac. watchOS 27 upgrade coming to Apple Watch this month (2026-09-09)
  7. Macworld. Apple Watch Series 12 and Ultra 4 are here with continuous health monitoring and Siri recaps (2026-09-09)
  8. Gadgets & Wearables. Why Apple Watch Series 11 and Ultra 3 miss out on Readiness (2026-09-10)
  9. Gadgets & Wearables. Apple Watch Series 12 & Ultra 4 look set for a September 9 debut (2026-08-26)
  10. 9to5Mac. Report: Apple Watch Series 12 may feature always-on heart-rate tracking, new Fitness app (2026-08-30)
  11. MacRumors. New Apple Watch Series 12 and Apple Watch Ultra 4 Features Revealed (2026-08-30)

All research discussed in this article is summarized in our own words. We link to original sources for full access. This content is for informational purposes and does not constitute medical advice.

Apple Watch Series 12Apple Watch Ultra 4Apple eventwatchOS 27ReadinessHealth Sensing System

Experience it yourself

AI-powered workouts, photo nutrition logging, HRV recovery tracking, voice coaching, and more - all free to start.

Download Vora Free

Related Articles

Industry News

Apple Watch Readiness Runs Only on Series 12 and Ultra 4. Here Is Why Your Series 11 Misses Out.

watchOS 27 reaches back to the Series 9, but Readiness does not travel with it. Apple's own comparison page lists the Readiness app and the new Health Sensing System on exactly two watches: Series 12 and Ultra 4. We read Apple's newsroom releases, its comparison page and its buy page to work out what Readiness actually scores, why the cutoff is hardware rather than marketing, and what it costs you to get in.

Read more
Industry News

watchOS 27 Drops Five Apple Watches, and Now There's a Lawsuit: What Owners Actually Need to Know

watchOS 27 supports only Series 9 and later, Ultra 2 and later, and SE 3, cutting off the Series 6, 7, 8, SE 2, and original Ultra. A California class action filed August 12 calls it planned obsolescence. Here is what the cutoff really means for your watch, your health data, and your next move.

Read more
Industry News

Amazfit Has One or Two Launches Left in 2026, and Zepp Says Core Features Stay Free

Zepp Health's Q2 call closed the door on most of the rest of the Amazfit year. We read the company's own earnings release next to two write-ups of the call: revenue up 6.9% to $63.5 million, a wider net loss, Q3 guidance pointing down, the Helio Strap short on supply, and a CFO saying free professional features are a competitive advantage rather than a missed subscription.

Read more

Explore All Features

All FeaturesBiology & Health ScoreVoice CoachingNutrition TrackingRecovery & HRVMeditationCycle TrackingApple WatchIntegrationsDaily Plan